Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Clean Air Advocates Urge EPA to Reduce Smog in Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, and Across the Eastern U.S.


NEWS RELEASE

Contact:
Sharyn Stein, EDF, 202-572-3396, sstein@edf.org
Leah Kelly, Environmental Integrity Project, 202-263-4448, lkelly@environmentalintegrity.org
John Sheehan, Adirondack Council, 518-441-1340, jsheehan@adirondackcouncil.org
Anneka Wisker, Moms Clean Air Force, 202-572-3308, awisker@momscleanairforce.org
Stuart Ross, CATF, 914-649-5037, sross@catf.us
Trey Pollard, Sierra Club, trey.pollard@sierraclub.org, 202-904-9187
Jessica Hodge, Earthjustice, 202-667-4500 ext. 5201, jhodge@earthjustice.org
Brook Havlik, WE ACT, 212-961-1000, ext. 320, brooke@weact.org
Frank O'Donnell, Clean Air Watch, 202-558-3527, frank@cleanairwatch.org
Tamara Toles O'Laughlin, Maryland Environmental Health Network, 443-863-5275, tamara@mdehn.org
Peter Iwanowicz, Environmental Advocates of New York, 518-462-5526 x 228, piwanowicz@eany.org


Clean Air Advocates Urge EPA to Reduce Smog in Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, and Across the Eastern U.S.

(Washington, D.C. – April 26, 2017) A coalition of public health, conservation, and environmental groups representing millions of Americans is going to bat for the states of Connecticut, Delaware, and Maryland in a fight with the Trump Administration over smog.

The three states have asked the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) for help reducing air pollution that is blowing across their borders from neighboring states – from power plants that have pollution controls, but are not running them. The pollution is adding to these downwind states’ smog problems and is putting the health of their citizens at risk.

After several months, EPA has not responded to the states’ requests. The Adirondack Council, Clean Air Task Force, Clean Air Watch, Earthjustice, Environmental Advocates of New York, Environmental Defense Fund, Environmental Integrity Project, Maryland Environmental Health Network, Moms Clean Air Force, Sierra Club, and WE ACT for Environmental Justice have now sent a joint letter to EPA urging the agency to do its job.